Heat Exhaustion

I couldn’t see anything but at the same time everything was grey and my head was screaming in pain. I tried three times to grasp the zipper pull to my tent and staggered to my feet. I don’t remember putting on shoes but I heard my flip flops against the two-o’clock-in-the-morning pavement. I nearly tripped from the disconnect between my head and my feet, somehow staying upright and making it to the bathroom. I was still not sure if I was awake or asleep, and what felt like three inches of space behind my eyes kept me from getting used to the fluorescent lights; but the buzzing was insistent. I eventually made it back to my tent, falling to my knees inside. I was able to close the rainfly and my door, collapsing back onto my sleeping bag. I was out like a flickering light.

Leave a comment